TBF Group Features – Week of December 27, 2009

I’m so excited to have our first round of features in our lovely touched by fire group. I ran the features after the group being open for just a few days – I couldn’t believe the caliber of submissions we already had. That is why I was so excited to go ahead and give some love to some of our first members. Congratulations to each of you for the feature it’s so beyond deserving. Below I will talk about why I chose each piece. For the pieces that also touch you – please don’t forget to leave comments for them on their page. It’s so important for an artist to know how their pieces affected us.

It’s not secret I am a fan of greeneyedlady’s writing. I posted a special piece on her last week. It wasn’t a surprise at all then, to see another fantastic piece of writing by her. I’m so glad she placed it in our cozy group. I probably sound like I’m on repeat when I talk about her writing. I think that is because she is a kindred spirit for me. Such a romantic dreamer, so full of memories and longing and wishes and love. This piece was no exception. So brilliantly crafted… my eyes took it in and it felt like my own breath. One poignant aching piece about the scent of someone that you love and is no longer there. Thank you GEL, for again pulling my lavender-coated heart strings. Here is her brilliant piece:

wafting by me on the wind

wafting by me on the wind
is the scent of him
and i look for him
eager for him to be there
no…
that’s not right,
my brain reasons,
he’s not here now….
it must be someone else….
but for me it’s no one else
it’s no different than it ever was
when that scent wafts by
i breathe in
i breathe out
i look around
he should be there,
my heart argues,
but he’s not there
not anymore
just that scent
wafting by me on the wind…..

(c) greeneyedlady 2009

I don’t think there is a piece of Manoyla F’s that I haven’t favorited. She is definitely at the top of the list in my book. This piece is so fiery hot. I love the way they are embracing each other, like they never want to let go. I felt as if they were going to sink into each others skin, soaking, soaked, until they are one flesh. It’s so passionate, so heated, they are literally on fire. This really makes the romantic in me burn. Featured for turning up the temperature – Never let me go.

Janis Zroback is one of the best painters on the bubble, in my opinion. Her use of color is out of this world. There is something about each piece that turns on a light in my subconscious. This featured piece – Landscape…Mysterious Kor – is divine. I have such a love for trees, they represent so much about life and mother earth, being rooted and connected. Her use of contrast in the colors makes me feel like everything around the tree is shining, singing in its presence; It’s dripping life and wisdom. Featured for reminding me of the connection of life to all things.

I love Julie Thomas and her photography. She has such a soft sensitive way with her lens. Her piece entitled Love is… is the epitome of romance. Goodness knows I love layers, and the layering on this is brilliant. The flower has such perfect composition and pose, and I love the lavender stigma, it’s so breathtaking. Add the words and the beautiful BEAUTIFUL blurred background – I was hooked. I really feel like I fall in love each time I see it. And those scribbles, they are whispers chanting in my ear… Featured for taking me back to places my heart loves to be.

xairoise is another incredible being. Her use of mood and colors in her pieces is really unique, and always captures my attention. At first glance, this piece – still playing, has wonderful elements. The beautiful lines of the tree, it’s feathered leaves, the caged violinist, playing her heart away despite her situation, and even the grass, which seams to be stretching itself, up up up to touch their tips to the notes of the music. But what makes this piece really special is the description she included that explains her thoughts behind it. Featured for bringing a tear to my eye and talking about the struggle that artists face by entering a realm not always supported by non-creative people.

The photography of Cathleen Tarawhiti always goes to the dreamy center of my brain. I always celebrate women photographers and photography. She has incredible talent and is always blowing me away with the beautiful women she captures. But it’s more than just beautiful women, she captures a moment in time, always telling a story with each photo. Dreaming ahead… is one of my favorite pieces of hers so far. It’s so lush and romantic, and the movement of the model was captured so softly and brilliantly. Featured for making me want to go where the she (the character) is going.

Aglaia is such a quirky woman. Quirky as in unique and girly. I love the way she crosses dreamy, romantic, and vintage styles. The colors of her pieces always POP. While she is not the subject in this piece, I still see her in it. In fact, I see her in all her pieces. Maybe that’s what makes them so unique. The title alone wins me over – faint heart never won a fair maiden. Who could resist that, really? Featured for bringing me back to my feminine died hard Camelot thoughts of the knight on a white horse.

Tracey Mac is one of those phenomenal women that has life burning inside her soul. She seems to feel her emotions at a 5000 degree C centerpoint. Her piece Nothing really ends… is so haunting to me. The circle window brings so many emotions to my mind; circle of life, window into a soul, memories of what was that we can’t let go, a journey from one point to the next. My dreamy eyes have stared at this magical moment for hours… my own tired soul weighed down with a multitude of feelings. The color usage also takes me to a dream state. Featured for making me peer into my own soul window.

Talk about dreamy, Ingz has of way of taking the ordinary and making it appear magical. Her use of placement, composition, color, and focus takes my mind to another state of being. When I see her work I want to just feel my own breath, in and out, zen style. This photo – Midnight blue – is so deep I felt like Alice in Wonderland.. falling, falling. Featured for allowing me to swim in this sea of midnight petalled dreams.

funkyfacestudios is amazing to me. She dabbles in several styles of art, completely consistent in the level of quality across the board. Her photography is outstanding, and often uses her own children as the models. One thing is for sure – she captures a mood every time. Glaring sunlight is about as haunting a face shot as I’ve seen. The dreamy eyes of her beautiful daughter makes me feel like swimming in strawberry cream. The glittered face, the bokeh background, the captivating heaviness of emotion – I was hooked. Featured for making this black and white taste like a rainbow of emotions.

A new kid on the block that I’m so happy to have came across is HollyGoLightly. This genius artist-in-the-making is light years ahead of her age. I love whimsical deep girls, and Minnie is the definition of it. I absolutely loved her clowning around piece. It’s so batman/joker meets Andy Warhol. Freaking fantastic in my book. Featured for titillating my eyes with frame after frame of tenacity and fun.

The final piece is the completion of a journey of emotions. ArcadiaTempest is a wonderfully lush and contemplative woman who constantly gets at us with her pen. Little Lies, like so many of her pieces, forces us to look within at something we all deal with, but don’t necessarily wish to examine so deeply. Look at the comments on this pace and you’ll see what I mean by getting a reaction. It’s not often a writers pieces can cause paragraphs on paragraphs of thoughts and musings over their words, but she does it all the time. Featured for giving me a heck of a lot to think about that I wasn’t ready to consider.

Little Lies

Why do we cry for the little lies?
Do we need armor even for the small lines of mistruths?

A big lie tosses us into the sea of witches
Casting spells of vengeance and regret
Hearts harden or tumble into the guillotine basket

Why can a tiny lie form a crack in our heart?
Why can a tiny lie undo the good that was done?

Little lies are small and surely mean no harm
Or is this presumption a lie in itself and wrong?

Little lies can be dressed in all guises
A genuine interest becoming a forgotten promise
Words sent for healing but without full merit
Omitting words to keep secret for protection
Anger sprouting where a voice is usually quiet
Sadness protecting a sore that has not healed
A carefree though fickle nature meaning no harm
Busy lives pulling the noose causing quick retorts

Is how we react and respond the measure of us?
Turn the other cheek and does the other get slapped?
Does our level of reaction indicate the level we need to grow?
Should we be quiet and fathom out the answer alone?

A little lie does not want to send us grief
Then why is there sometimes more pain in the little lie?

A lie not meant to create a wave of emotions to fall
Do we think we do not tell little lies ourselves?
A little unintended lie is laying in the heel of my shoe
I may need to find another pair for now it seems
And to remember that no-one will ever be perfect
especially the likes of me who has said a lie or two

© K S Hardy 2009

Celebrate these wonderful and amazing artists with me by going to the touched by fire group and leave your own little trail dust of love.

9 thoughts on “TBF Group Features – Week of December 27, 2009

Leave a Reply

