ShadowDancers RedBubble Journey – October 30, 2009

“To a true artist only that face is beautiful which, quite apart from its exterior, shines with the truth within the soul.” ~Gandhi

One of the things that struck a chord with me from the beginning were the beautiful variations of art depicting the human face. It takes amazing talent to be able to give a soul to a painting/photo. Here are a few that I favorited in my beginning time on the bubble.

David Vanderpool created this marvelous pencil drawing of a man in a turban. You can see in this piece of art that this man has lived a hundred lives in one, and I enjoy so much the smile on his face.

fursid tells a compelling story simply with a close-up of an old mans face. This is truly one of the most amazing photographs I have seen of a person. Each time I look at him I feel like I can swim in the vast experiences he has lived through.

Sue Nueckel blew me away with her delicately beautiful photo of a woman with such intense eyes they could stop the tides from the moon. It’s such a spectacularly feminine photo, I was very touched and could stare it at for hours. Her whole portfolio is incredible – check it out.

Lorenzo Castello translated a hijabi woman onto canvas with a mix of oil and magic. I loved that I could see the texture from his paint strokes. Fatima’s eyes are brilliantly bright. I felt as if we were having a secret conversation when I saw this piece. Beautiful work.

Cinquain has to be one of my top charcoal artists. The depth of soul and realistic aspects of each piece blows me away. This is the first image that I came across from this artist. I swear I can feel the breeze that is blowing her hair, and see the light that she is bleeding up into.

April Cowan is another amazing charcoal artist. One look at her portfolio and you’ll be caught up the magic of her art. This piece has such magic and realism it’s unbelievable that it isn’t a photograph. Her usage of shadows and light bring her subjects to life. Is this young one about to say something? April tops it off with a wonderful quote from ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’.

Another person on here that blows me away with the intricacies of faces is Aleci. His portfolio is filled to the brim with amazing pieces of emotions. I always feel as if he has a magic camera and captures a real piece of his subjects soul when he snaps the shutter. He specializes in self-portraits that hypnotize with each emotion he is emitting.

I hope you enjoy these pieces as much as I have. Please take a moment to check out the artists; they all make a huge contribution to RedBubble with their fantastic and diverse talents. Thank you so much for reading my post, and I look forward to continuing this journey together.

ShadowDancer

3 thoughts on “ShadowDancers RedBubble Journey – October 30, 2009

  1. wow… how wonderfully you write and plug-in relevant imagery that compliments it equally very well…. thanks for considering my piece into your blog 🙂 appreciate that a lot.

Leave a Reply

