ShadowDancers RedBubble Journey – October 27, 2009

The journey that I have taken on RedBubble has been one of illumination, inspiration, and empowerment. I have traveled inside the minds of others, zoomed in on otherwise unnoticeable things in ways that make them spectacular, seen places in this world I have never been to, and even trekked to other galaxies. Every time I visit I am taken to other-worlds that wrap themselves around my heart.

Since I am in a nostalgic mood, I thought I would begin this walk down the rainbow-hued paths of the Bubble by remembering some of the first art and artists that I came across. You may have seen some or all of them yourself, but they are all magnificent works in their own right, and deserve to be revisited from time to time. So please, relax, and put on your best walking shoes.

The very first piece of work I ever marked as a favorite is by a wonderfully talented artist Al Neaimi. His whole portfolio blew my mind; it is full of complex designs, patterns, and textured, coupled with a depth of understanding of humanity. The first piece that I favorited is still my favorite of his works. The piece, along with his writing about the image, stirred so many emotions inside of me – this is my favorite part of his message: ” Throughout your WONDERFUL Journey of ENLIGHTENMENT remember to pause and refresh, and look around: you will be Splendidly impressed with what you see.”
Enlightenment by Al Neaimi

Another one of my first favorite images quickly led to one of my favorite painters. Her work is so lifelike I keep waiting to see their breath. Many of you may recognize her by her signature butterflies she beautifully implants on each picture. Alice McMahon White created this picture that I became enamored with. This painting portrays Marilyn in such a beautiful way, she looks so woman and raw, like we are seeing her as she wakes up from a wonderful dream rather than the pinup version she pretended to be.

Aphrodite by Alice McMahon White

“Land of the Elves” is a fitting title for a look into a world frosted over with perfect white-blue snow straight from heaven. MarianaEwa took the photograph many wait a lifetime to take.

Land of the Elves by MarianaEwa

“Amongst the Fog” is an image that reminded me of the beauty in imperfection. It is a stunning photograph of some lone red flowers, somewhat imperfect, yet beautiful in their own right. The artist, Julie Thomas, has a great portfolio.

Amongst the Fog by Julie Thomas

F. Magdalene Austin is another magnificent painter on the Bubble. My favorite work of hers, and let me say it is SO hard to narrow it down, is called “Eyes Like a River”. This image of a woman’s tears speaks volumes to my soul. It made me feel like she was crying for all of sisterhood. While she is soaking in sadness, I somehow feel uplifted when I see her face.

Eyes Like a River by F. Magdalene Austin

Another instant favorite for me was by digital artist Dylan Murphy. His specialty is self-portraits and each piece is evocative and thought-provoking. I could stare at each one for silent eternities. The first one I came across, however, is “Let it Out”. Funny how we tend to come across things as we need them. When I found this piece it was at a time when I had been suppressing and bottling up a lifetime of emotions – it was the perfect antidote for me. In fact, I never told Dylan, but it inspired one of the first poems I had written in years, called Fear of Expression. Here is his photo:

Let It Out by Dylan Murphy

ntherapy took me to a place of nostalgia and dreams with “my mothers house”. This is a perfect example of how a photograph of something so normal, so simple, can bring a rush of feeling from the tips of our toes, up our spinal cord, and into our minds where it will reside for an eternity. Just one glance at this photo and I feel a light Ozark breeze and smell my mothers homemade pecan pie, coffee brewing, and hear the songs she used to sing when I was a child – the same ones she sings to my own children now.

my mothers house - by ntherapy

Paris is a city after many artists heart. I have been lucky enough to see this magnificent city, but no stay is ever long enough. Leia managed to conjure up some magical orange pixie dust and transform the usual Eiffel Tower photo into something from another planet. This is my all-time favorite photo of this awe-inspiring landmark.
Eiffel

Susan Duffey has a wonderful bubble page full of paintings of trees and flowers and nature. I really love her work. One of my favorite pieces of hers is from a series on trees of the seasons. “Winter Trees” is both icey and inviting at the same time. The hues of blue that she used, the shapes of the trees, and the ‘ice’ affects she used are superb. It makes me reach for a cup of hot cocoa every time.
winter trees by Susan Duffey

Here is the very first piece of writing that I put on my favorites list. It’s by a beautifully talented writer Rebekah Anderson and it’s called I Breathe. Again, so appropriate for the kind of message that I needed to hear at the time I read it. It’s a beautiful reminder to appreciate life – every breath we take is significant. Please click the link and read this profound piece of work. You’ll be as glad as I was to read it.

The other piece of writing I wish to share is from the most talented and RedBubble staple PJ Ryan. It’s called Spider Legs and so captivated me I read it over and over again. Here is a tidbit:

You have crawled inside of me at night through the doorway of dreams and you hang around for longer than you know you should and we kiss and talk and roll around in yesterdays and tomorrows.

Hint – you’ll wish for a toothpick afterwards.

That’s it for now fellow dreamers. I’d love to hear your feedback on whether you think this bit was worth the read. Please be patient with me as I get through some of the older works before I start sharing new material and new artists. I really want to give credit to those that have affected me through this voyage my soul has taken.

Much thanks and love,
Patty Jo

One thought on “ShadowDancers RedBubble Journey – October 27, 2009

  1. Hi patti Jo,
    Just love your words as always…your choice of these wonderful artist…is awesome…I would love to say you have been a joy to know..Dear Patti Jo
    Sherri :):) happy hugsss.

Leave a Reply

