Friday Feature – 3rd September 2010

I was deeply touched by a piece of writing and a piece of art today and thought they both deserved a special feature:

First, Strawberries’ Today I left my soul in the snow (Goodbye Winter)

I loved the desolation in the image and the way it captures your imagination with the writing in the description as much as the actual image:

Today I left my soul in the snow (Goodbye Winter)

Today I left my soul in the snow (Goodbye Winter) by Strawberries

Secondly, Raymondo’s amazing poem SOMEWHERE IN THE MILKY WAY

NAGASAKI WAS NINE YEARS
AND ANOTHER NIGHTMARE AWAY
WHEN I WAS BORN ON A HOT,
MEDITERRANEAN, MALTESE DAY.
MY FIRST BREATH DANCED
WITH A SOFT, SIROCCO SIGH.
MY FIRST SIGHT
WAS MY MOTHERS’ JOY.
I’D BE FOREVER
……………………….. HER LITTLE BOY!

BUT THE LITTLE BOY GREW QUICKLY,
PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY!
I BECAME AWARE OF MANY THINGS.
I SOON UNDERSTOOD WHAT HYPOCRISY,
BIGOTRY AND NARROW-MINDED STUPIDITY
COULD DO TO A MAN,
AND WHAT MAN COULD SO CRUELLY DO
TO HIS FELLOW MAN.
ALL IN THE NAME OF THE SWORD,
THE CROSS
AND THE CRESCENT!

I REBELLED!

I REFUSED TO BE BOUND BY RELIGIONS’ CHAINS!
IT COULD NEVER MAKE A GALLEY SLAVE OF THIS SOUL.
I KNEW THAT THERE WAS SO MUCH MORE TO LEARN.
I NEEDED SOMETHING FINER…..HIGHER!
I TURNED TO THE EAST
AND GRAZED ON THE WISDOM
OF THE VEDAS AND THE BUDDHA.
THAT TASTE WAS SWEET BUT NOT ENOUGH TO SATISFY
MY THIRST FOR TRUTH!

I STILL LEARN
I STILL SEARCH

I FLY

I FALL

I PICK MYSELF UP AND CONTINUE MY QUEST
IN THIS ART OF WAR CALLED….. LIFE.
ON THIS MAD HELLISH PLANET
SOMEWHERE IN THE MILKY WAY………………

© Raymondo

This had me hooked from the first line and took me to surprising places. Like Raymondo (and I am sure many,many artists) I’ve always been looking for those answers. A quest for a holy grail for many of us and so beautifully and passionately described in this poem right from the first moment the quest began. Fabulous!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Friday Feature – 3rd September 2010

Leave a Reply

